Vegetarian food

Attitude to vegetarian diet has always been controversial. Harmfulness and usefulness of vegetarian menu is still under discussion. Moreover, vegetarians are not a single group of people. Views of various representatives of this movement regarding the diet may vary greatly.

Types of vegetarian food

People become vegetarians due to difference reasons, that is why their interpretation of what to eat and what to avoid is different. The biggest amount of vegetarians is in India (according to various researches - from 20 to 40%). The two main reasons for that are religion and economics. In the USA 32% of vegetarians exclude meat from their menu from health considerations, while 11% due to their love for animals and 3% - in order to lose some weight.

Various goals and world views form various types of vegetarian diets.

The most radical representatives of vegetarianism are the rawtarians – those who eat only raw food. There are also followers of mixed diets, so called ‘quasi vegetarians’. Some types of vegetarian menu may include the food that is unacceptable for some representatives of the movement: fish (the pescetarians) or poultry (the pollo vegetarians).

Healthy vegetarian diet

Studies suggest that vegetarian diet is useful, but only if it is well-balanced. If to turn to vegetable food ineptly, the person may suffer from a scarcity of D and B12 vitamins, omega-3, iron, zinc and calcium. According to Michael Gershon, dean of the Department of Anatomy at Columbia University, all these substances are “necessary for both physical and mental health”.

Principles of healthy vegetarian diet

  • A variety of food groups and types (to avoid deficiency of vitamins, iron and fatty acids.
  • Adding protein-reach food to the diet (soy, garbanzo, black and red beans, lentils, etc.).
  • Selection of the type of vegetarian diet depending on the individual characteristics of the organism. The biggest censure is roused by vegan and raw food diets. Doctors say that they should be considered as a temporary menu only, while lacto-ovo-vegetarianian diet can be kept for a long time.

A great role is also played by a particular type of vegetarian menu you keep to, that is why to give general recommendations is quite a challenging task. They will be different for vegans and pescetarians, since the latter eat not only vegetarian food.

Subscribe to news!

Stay tuned with the conference and industry news!

Вегетарианское питание

Отношение к вегетарианскому питанию всегда было противоречивым. Вопросы вреда и полезности вегетарианского меню обсуждаются до сих пор. К тому же вегетарианцы сами по себе не являются единой группой. Разные представители этого течения могут серьезно расходиться во взглядах на питание.

Виды вегетарианского питания

Люди становятся вегетарианцами по разным причинам – отсюда и разница в понимании того, что «можно» и «нельзя» есть. Так, самая большая доля вегетарианцев – в Индии (от 20 до 40% по данным разных исследований). Две основные причины этого – религиозная и экономическая. В США 32% вегетарианцев отказываются от мяса из соображений здоровья, 11% – из любви к животным, а 3% – в качестве диеты для похудения.

Разные цели и разные мировоззрения диктуют различные типы вегетарианских диет.

вегетарианское питание

Наиболее радикальными представителями вегетарианцев являются сыроеды, употребляющие только необработанные термически продукты. Есть, напротив, сторонники смешанных диет – квазивегетарианцы. Некоторые варианты вегетарианского меню содержат такие продукты питания, которые не приемлются другими представителями движения: рыбу (пескетарианцы) или мясо птицы (поллотарианцы).

Здоровое вегетарианское питание

Исследования подтверждают, что вегетарианское питание полезно – но только в том случае, когда оно хорошо сбалансировано. При неумелом переключении на растительную пищу в организме может возникнуть дефицит витамина В12, жирных кислот Омега-3, железа, цинка, кальция и витамина D. Как утверждает Майкл Гершон, декан кафедры анатомии Колумбийского университета, все эти вещества «необходимы для здоровья, в том числе душевного».

Принципы здорового вегетарианского питания

  • Разнообразие пищевых групп и видов продуктов (для восполнения дефицита витаминов, железа, жирных кислот).
  • Добавление в рацион пищи с достаточным количеством белка (соя, нут, черная и красная фасоль, чечевица и пр.).
  • Подбор типа вегетарианского питания в зависимости от индивидуальных особенностей организма. Наибольшие нарекания всегда вызывает веганская диета, сыроедение врачи вообще предлагают рассматривать как временный вариант меню, в то время как лакто-ово-вегетарианства можно придерживаться в течение длительного времени.

Очень многое будет зависеть от конкретного вида вегетарианского меню, которого вы придерживаетесь, поэтому давать общие рекомендации крайне затруднительно. Они будут отличаться для веганов и пескетарианцев, ведь последние употребляют не только вегетарианские продукты питания.

Подпишись на новости!

Будь в курсе новостей конференции и индустрии!